Writing the Next Chapter

Committed to Date

At a groundbreaking on June 12, 2019, the Worcester Public Library Foundation kicked off the public phase of our $4.1 million capital campaign- Writing the Next Chapter. To date, $3.4 million has been raised towards the $4.1 million goal.

The campaign is spearheaded by community leader, Warner Fletcher, and includes campaign steering committee members Paul Belsito, Jeff Burk, Vaughn Calhoun, Sarah Connell, Patty Eppinger, Dr. Richard E. Greene, Anne Lang, Tim Loew, Stephanie Pasha, Sherri Pitcher, Gail Randall, Dr. Robert Sorrenti, and Tina Sullivan.

Writing the Next Chapter is a multi-year capital campaign to support the $12.7 million renovation of the Worcester Public Library’s Main Library. The project includes the creation of a new entrance on the building’s north side, facing the Worcester Common, and the enclosure of the covered portico running along Salem Street. The newly enclosed space will create 8,000 additional square feet of space. This will create more public space, and allow for the creation of a Digital Studio and Innovation Center, as well as the improvement of several areas of the ground floor, including the Teen Zone, audiovisual area, and bookstore.

One of the most exciting aspects of the renovation is the elevation of the children’s room to the third floor, creating an opportunity to build a state-of-the-art space that provides children and their families with many unique learning opportunities. The new room will feature interactive spaces, a celebration of several Worcester landmarks, and much more.

“This renovation project is important to the more than 600,000 visitors who come to the library in search of information, support and community, and we are excited by the opportunity to more fully integrate the library into the new development occurring around the Common,” said Geoffrey Dickinson, WPL Head Librarian.

The campaign is off to a fantastic start, but we still need to raise $700,000 to reach our goal. In the coming weeks and months, we will be appealing to all those who care about and support the library with the hope that our entire community will rally around this important cause and help complete the project. To date, many individuals, businesses and foundations have stepped forward to lead this fundraising effort and we are very grateful for their support.

Thank you to the following individuals, businesses, and foundations who have committed to date:

Albert J. Gifford Charitable Trust
Albert W. Rice Charitable Foundation
Edward Augustus
Katherine Bagdis and Matt Wally
Francesca Bang and Gerald Gleich
Bay State Savings Bank
Maureen Binienda
Margaret Boatwright-McEvoy
Jeffrey Burk
Chacharone Properties
C. Jean and Myles McDonough Charitable Foundation
Joseph and Karen Crotty
Tracy Dill
William DiLuca Estate
Anthony Economou
Fred and Patty Eppinger
Fidelity Bank
Fletcher Foundation
Warner and Mary Fletcher
The George F. and Sybil H. Fuller Foundation
George I. Alden Trust
Ben Gitkind

Jane Grant and Michael Madaus
Hanover Insurance Group Foundation
The Hart Foundation
Dean Hickey
Jamie Hoag
Hoche-Scofield Foundation
Matthew Irish
J. Irving England and Jane L. England Charitable Trust
Joseph Persky Foundation
Jolene Jennings
Michael Keating
Emily Kent
James and Anne Lang
Dr. Linda Larrivee
Gregory Lazan and Willa Kahn
Timothy Loew
Maureen and Patrick Looney
Michael P. Lyons
Laura and Barry Maloney
Patrick Maloney
Molly McCullough
Timothy McGourthy
Melvin S. Cutler Charitable Foundation

Christine Murray
Dr. William and Betty O’Neil
Deborah Ostrow
Deborah Packard
Ernest and Barbara Pantos
Stephanie Pasha
Pierce Living Trust
Kathleen and John Polanowicz
Gail Randall
Anne Marie Rafferty-Dipierro and Patrick Dipierro
Alan and Wendy Ritacco
Heather Robinson and Ron Adler
Rockwell Foundation
Shelley and Todd Rodman
Sarah and Jake Sanders
Elizabeth Sanning
Dr. Robert Sorrenti and Dr. Lynda Young
Stoddard Charitable Trust
Tina and Bill Sullivan
Wyman-Gordon Foundation